The Bethlen-Rákóczi castle in Berehovo (Beregszász)
It is one of Berehove’s oldest and most beautiful buildings that was built by Gábor Bethlen, prince of Transylvania, in 1629. It burnt down in 1686 in the Thököly-uprising, and was probably restored by Ferenc Rákóczi II. In 1857 the manor-house was converted in Classicist style; this was the time when a porch (entrance) with six columns and tympanum was built in the centre in front of its southern facade. It became the property of the Rákóczi family at the end of the 17th century.
Ferenc Rákóczi II stayed here several times. At the beginning of the 1980s, the restoration of the Bethlen manor-house was completed, and the age-specific character of the building was totally reserved. Since 2002, the manor-house has been home to the Beregvidék (Local History) Museum. In its cellar that is many hundreds of years old, we can trace the rich history of the Berehove wine region.